Who gives a car 5 stars?

Understanding and comparing vehicle safety is easier than ever, thanks to consistent testing from an independent body.

Who tests cars for safety?

Vehicle safety has come a long way and should be a key consideration when purchasing a car. The Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) is Australasia’s leading independent vehicle safety advocate. ANCAP reports provide consumers with transparent advice and information on the level of occupant and pedestrian protection provided in the most common types of crashes, as well as the vehicles ability – through technology – to avoid a crash.

Kia safety in article image copyHow safe?

To achieve an ANCAP safety rating – of whichever star rating level – a vehicle must achieve minimum scores in each of the physical tests as well as meet minimum requirements for the inclusion of key safety features and SAT which can help prevent, or minimise the impact of, a crash.

Refer to ANCAP summary report (left)


Not just for luxury cars

Interestingly, 5 star safety ratings are now starting to appear in the “small car” segment. This is great news for fleet owners who care for the safety of their staff.

The Kia Picanto has just been introduced into the Australian market – and it’s received an ANCAP 5 star rating. It features rear parking sensors, 5-doors and is automatic. These are all standard features and is priced from only $14,990.

Shows you just how far the small passenger segment has come!

Please follow and share

2 thoughts on “Who gives a car 5 stars?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *